South East Queensland

Winners of the 2021 Queensland Bus Driver of the Year Awards are a step closer to being crowned, with nine finalists unveiled as public voting opens.

From March 7-18, members of the public will have the chance to vote online for one of three finalists in each of the categories of South East Queensland urban bus drivers, regional bus drivers and school bus drivers.

The finalists, determined by a judging panel following a month-long public nomination period, are:

South East Queensland

  • Kate Addley (Transdev, Capalaba)
  • Rick Pilgrim (Mt Gravatt Coachlines)
  • Glenda Curyer (Sunbus, Sunshine Coast)

Regional Queensland

  • Mark Bell (Kinetic, Rockhampton)
  • Jaswinder Singh (Bus Queensland, Toowoomba)
  • Harold Denman (Sunbus, Cairns)

Queensland School Services

  • Lachie Heron (Thompson Bus Services, Joyner)
  • Donna McMahon (CDC, Sunshine Coast)
  • John Maddy (CDC, Sunshine Coast)

Winning drivers will be presented with a trophy and $1000 cash prize at the awards ceremony, held in partnership with the Queensland Bus Industry Council, on April 9.

Head of TransLink Sally Stannard said more than 1200 nominations had been received across the three award categories, recognising the vital role bus drivers continue to play in keeping Queenslanders moving and connected to work, study, essential services and each other.

“We’re delighted to see the hard work of so many drivers acknowledged via a nomination and whittling the list of finalists down to just nine was incredibly tough,” Ms Stannard said.

“Frontline public transport staff, including hard-working bus drivers, really have been unsung heroes during COVID-19, which is why these awards are so important.

“The nine drivers chosen as finalists are a shining example of friendly customer service and have shown a  willingness to go above and beyond for customers.

“It’s an exciting time for the awards and we’d encourage as many people as possible to jump online and vote for their favourite driver.

“I’d like to congratulate our finalists, as well as all drivers who were nominated, and am looking forward to crowning the winners on April 9.”

To vote for one of the finalists, visit