Map showing the 23 zones serviced by TransLink in South East Queensland, including Brisbane, Ipswich, the Gold Coast and the Sunshine Coast

TransLink zone map, click to enlarge.

Map showing the 11 zones serviced by TransLink in Cairns

Cairns network map, click to enlarge.

TransLink operates services across 23 zones in South East Queensland, 11 zones in Cairns and 15 zones in Mackay.

Fares are calculated at either an adult or concession rate and based on the number of zones you travel through during your journey.

Working out your fare

To calculate your fare, look at the zones you travel in during your journey. Subtract the lowest zone you will be travelling in from the highest zone and add 1. This will determine the correct number of zones you will be charged for.

In South East Queensland, the zones start from zone 1 in the Brisbane CBD. The Cairns CBD is within a special zone, zone 20. Travel to or from Cairns zone 20 is treated as an additional zone. 

In Mackay the maximum number of zones you can travel is 12.

You can also use the journey planner to calculate the fare for a specific journey.

Fare examples

  • If you are travelling between Ipswich (zone 7) and Fortitude Valley (zone 1), you would pay a 7-zone fare because you are travelling in zones 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1, which is (7-1)+1 = 7 zones.
  • If you are travelling from Morayfield (zone 8) to Strathpine (zone 5), you would pay a 4-zone fare because you are travelling in zones 8, 7, 6 and 5, which is (8-5)+1 = 4 zones.

Zone boundaries

Some bus stops and train stations are located on a zone boundary, so they have 2 zone numbers (for example, Burpengary is zone 7/8). This means when you travel towards Brisbane, you use the lower zone number to calculate your fare. When you travel away from Brisbane, you use the higher zone number.