We are working with Cubic Transportation Systems to develop a new payment system to make catching public transport even easier.

While go cards and paper tickets will continue to be accepted, the new payment system will:

  • introduce new ways to pay, including contactless debit and credit cards, smartphones and wearable devices (such as smart watches)
  • upgrade existing ticketing equipment
  • make it easier for you to manage your account, via an enhanced website and app
  • be rolled out across all south east Queensland and regional urban public transport networks.

This is the start of a four year journey, with system design and development being the focus of the first 18 months.

We will continue to keep you updated on the project through this page.


New payment system rollout area

Map of locations across Queensland where the new payment system will be rolled out

  • Airlie Beach and Proserpine
  • Bowen
  • Bundaberg
  • Cairns
  • Gladstone
  • Gympie
  • Hervey Bay
  • Innisfail
  • Kilcoy to Caboolture
  • Kilcoy to Caboolture
  • Mackay
  • Maryborough
  • North Stradbroke Island
  • Rockhampton
  • Sunshine Coast Hinterland
  • Toowoomba
  • Townsville and Magnetic Island
  • Warwick
  • Yeppoon